Putting Out the Trash

Good morning!  It’s been a while since there’s been a new post here.  New day, new month, so much going on, blogging took a very brief back seat.  We’re back!  Is almost everyone in clearing mode right now?  We have been, meaning myself and my loved ones.  No uncomfortable cleaning/clearing this time, just deep, long awaited, joyous release of emotions, things, and thoughts that no longer fit.

There was minor retrying-on of a few items.  If they do still fit, why get rid of them?  But for the most part, everyone is on track and blissfully moving forward in our truly enjoyable present, without all the old encumbrances.  FREEDOM!

One of my daughters has a mandate in her own family, home, and life:  Donate, give or otherwise remove everything not currently in use.  Obviously this does not include financial records or holiday decorations, but everything else is fair game!  I’ve accused her of being fanatical about this.  She swears it keeps the energy of her life moving, flowing, and bringing in wondrous new stuff that’s way better than all the old put together.  And she hasn’t even studied feng shui!

Many folks cling to things, ideas, and habits out of fear.  Merely considering letting go of some parts of our lives can be scary, although they long ago became useless, even unhealthy.  If you’ve ever watched a show about hoarding, you already know this. Useless clutter interferes with functionality as well as beauty and peacefulness, as well as providing a haven for dirt and filth. Hoarding is undeniably unhealthy.

But what about just hanging onto such things as food choices that don’t keep us healthy, choosing criticism rather than bestowing a compliment, or continuing to smoke because, “I’m not ready to give it up!  I really enjoy smoking.”

Recently I read a remark that, compared to the Gulf oil spill, “My smoking doesn’t seem so bad!”  That floored me to utter silence. The person making that remark is an intelligent, lovely person who has stubbornly clung to her tobacco habit even though it has cost her clients, friends, and loved ones.  The habit was more important to her than anyone else’s comfort, and people left her life.  I was one of them.

She introduced me to other smokers, perhaps with the intent that I would “get used to it”.  I didn’t.  What happened in my life, in response to constant reminders that, “I have a right to light!” was that I assumed a silent stand that I have a right to breathe clean air, to fill my lungs with oxygen, and to enjoy the smells of my home and my surroundings!

Looking back, I have much to thank this woman for!  I did learn to quietly, firmly stand up for what is right for me, and to let go of behaviors, people, relationships, and things that do not belong in my harmonious, peaceful life.  She literally forced me into it, and I’m eternally grateful!

A couple of times, I wondered if she ever missed my presence in her life.  I doubt that she ever did.  In fact, I’m certain that she still prefers her cigarettes and other habits to the friendship of anyone who cannot hang with consumption of her second-hand and third-hand smoke.

The bottom line is, everyone gets to make their own choices here! Short of your doing something glaringly illegal, and often not even then, no one comes into your life and rips away the things you cling to.  Many of us fear the discomfort of change.  Those with actual addictions fear the physical pain and agony of withdrawing from what they are choosing to hang onto.

We who do periodic cleaning/clearing of ourselves, bodies, homes, and personal spaces, come to enjoy even the symptoms of clearing because these symptoms herald the freedom and clarity that follow!

My personal journey with Reiki has been one of pursuing functionality and seeking health.  I’ve learned to be comfortable with everyone’s choices, including my own when it becomes necessary to let go of all that hurts me.  Yes, at times this includes leaving behind people that I genuinely love.  The love never departs.  Fortunately, I love myself enough to set and honor the boundaries that make my own life enjoyable.

To me, this is what Reiki is all about.  As we live day-to-day according to The Reiki Principles, it becomes first nature to KNOW OUR SELVES, and to joyously live accordingly!  The Reiki Precepts teach us how to live; they are guidelines for living the best life.  When we have mastered that, there is time enough to treat others, to be politically active, and to seek whatever else we desire.

Here is a loose translation of The Reiki Precepts into the English language:

Just for today I will give thanks for my many blessings.
Just for today I will not worry.
Just for today I will not anger.
Just for today I will do my work honestly.
Just for today I will love and respect every living thing.

May we all be blessed with the most abundant life ever!  Until next post, Namaste!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chicreation.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/putting-out-the-trash/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

