Spiritual Gifts: How Do I Know What Mine Are?

This is a great question!  Thanks for the opportunity to assist with this.

Question from Donald Owens:  Molly, how do I connect to my spiritual side?  I have trouble concentrating.  My mind wanders and doesn’t focus. What are your gifts? Can you give me some pointers to find out what mine are? Thank you.

Donald, thanks so much for asking this!  The first clue is, RELAX instead of concentrating.  When you “concentrate”, you are trying to do all the “work” yourself.  When you first begin to meditate, focus on your breath.  As you do this, your body naturally relaxes to deeper and deeper levels.  At first, just practice relaxing as deeply as you easily go, but ALLOW relaxation rather than striving for it.  It’s fine for your mind to wander; just bring it back to your breath when this happens, and continue breathing.  While you may not reach the most creative levels during your first attempts, you still reap the health benefits of lowered blood pressure and inner peace.  At the most appropriate point, you will go “beyond sleep”.  To describe this, I usually say that you’ll feel as if you are falling asleep.  Allow this!  Relax even more deeply, and you’ll find yourself in a vivid, clear creative state of mind with your body feeling somewhat like you are floating.  At this point, the world is yours!  If you had a purpose in mind for this particular meditation, ask and ye shall receive!  Or you can always just ask for the information that’s best for you right now, something like that.  Remember to seek for the answers within you first before asking outside sources; because of the God-spark within us, we have a direct line to Divine Truth.  It’s important to learn to trust this part of ourselves.  As for discovering your gifts, sit down with pen and paper.  Begin writing.  List the things that bring you happiness and joy.  Many people get caught up in “spiritual gifts”, “powers”, etc.  It’s kind of comical!  One of the most important spiritual gifts is the ability to bring JOY to others.  LOVE is an awesome spiritual gift.  Love is the key to all other spiritual gifts.  Begin with loving your SELF; by this I mean loving the part of you that comes directly from Heavenly Father, the part that gives you life and breath.  Get in touch with the qualities within you that come directly from Him.  These are your best spiritual gifts.  As for mine, the ones I value most are: the ability to teach the children in my life, the ability to literally feel what the people around me are feeling, the certainty that Heavenly Father is real and all the knowledge he blesses me with, as well as the protection he provides constantly for me and my family, and the FACT that he loves me and all my loved ones perfectly!  I hope one day to comprehend the entire magnificence of His Divine Love for all of us.  When you read the scriptures that tell us about spiritual gifts, it’s so easy to think that some are greater than others.  Just remember, “The greatest of these is LOVE!” At some point, you may see angels or receive revelation, or be blessed with the ability to heal.  No matter what you are ever given, stay centered in LOVE! I guess what I’m warning you about is that spiritual gifts can quickly become an ego trip before you realize what is happening, and when this happens, you are lost.  Spiritual gifts are like icing on a cake; they make you sick if you eat just the icing and leave the cake.  Have I adequately answered your questions, or do you need further clarification?

Reply from Donald:  Thank you so much. this is what I needed to start.

I AM always delighted to answer questions!  Please send them to me, post them on Facebook, etc. The ones that can be helpful to everyone will be posted here on the blog.  Until next blog post, namaste!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chicreation.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/spiritual-gifts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

